Child Abuse

Chapter 827 of the Florida Statutes is specifically for the criminal definitions and penalties for the Abuse of Children. There are several forms of Child Abuse defined as criminal offenses.

  • Aggravated Child Abuse/Child Abuse
  • Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor
  • Non-support of Dependents
  • Sexual Performance by a Child
  • Misuse of Child Support Money
  • Unlawful Desertion of a Child

All Forms of Child Abuse are Serious Offenses

Being charged with any form of child abuse is a serious situation that you need to address quickly. The earlier you hire your defense team, the better success you may have. We have over 25 years of experience defending Child Abuse charges in and around the Central Florida area.

Aggravated Child Abuse/Child Abuse/Neglect

Aggravated Child Abuse occurs when a person:

  • Commits aggravated battery on a child;
  • Willfully tortures, maliciously punishes, or willfully and unlawfully cages a child; or
  • Knowingly or willfully abuses a child and in so doing causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to the child.

Aggravated Child Abuse is a First Degree Felony. The penalties, if found guilty of Aggravated Child Abuse are below.

Maximum ImprisonmentMaximum FineMaximum Probation
30 years$10,00030 years

*This does not take into account any modifiers found in section 775.084, Florida Statutes, such as HFO, HVFO, 3xVFO, VCC, or PRR.

Child Abuse/Child Neglect means:

  • Intentional infliction of physical or mental injury upon a child;
  • An intentional act that could reasonably be expected to result in physical or mental injury to a child; or
  • Active encouragement of any person to commit an act that results or could reasonably be expected to result in physical or mental injury to a child.

A person who neglects a child and in so doing causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to the child commits a felony of the second degree.

A person who abuses a child without causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to the child commits a felony of the third degree.

A person who neglects a child without causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to the child commits a felony of the third degree.

MaximumImprisonmentFineProbation
2nd Felony15 years$10,00015 years
3rd Felony5 years$5,0005 years

*This does not take into account any modifiers found in section 775.084, Florida Statutes, such as HFO, HVFO, 3xVFO, VCC, or PRR.

Defenses to Child Abuse

Defenses to child abuse today are harder to establish. Simply allowing your child to walk to school alone can be considered a failure to make a reasonable effort to protect the child from abuse, if something happens. However, we are blessed with a jury system of justice. Establishing that reasonable care was afforded, that the injury occurred beyond your control, and justifications are all in play.

Contact Us

If you believe you will be or if you have already been charged with Child Abuse, contact us below. Fill out the form, submit it, and we will be in contact with you.