Determining your expungement qualification is as easy as answering a few questions. Just submit you information in the form at the bottom of this page or read through the questions in-between.
Step by Step Guide on Qualifying
The first thing you need to determine is if you qualify to have your arrest record either expunged or sealed. There is no sense in paying an attorney to help you with this if you do not qualify. Luckily, determining your qualification is quite simple.
Expungement Qualification for a Florida Arrest Record
To qualify for a Florida Record Expungement, your case must have been resolved in one of the following ways:
- The charges you were arrested for were ultimately dropped, dismissed, or you were acquitted of the charges, either by a judge or jury, and:
- (1) you have never been convicted of a felony in Florida, and
- (2) all juvenile arrests that resulted in an adjudication of delinquency have been automatically expunged pursuant to s. 943.0515, Fla. Stat., and
- (3) you have not been adjudicated guilty of a listed misdemeanor (found in s. 943.0585, Fla. Stat.), and
- (4) you have never sealed or expunged another arrest record in Florida (unless you are expunging an arrest that has been sealed for 10-years).
Sealing Qualification for a Florida Arrest Record
To qualify for a Florida Record Sealing, your case must have been resolved in one of the following ways:
- You entered a plea of “Guilty” or “No Contest” and the Court “Withheld” the adjudication of guilt, or
- You were found guilty after a trial and the Court “Withheld” the adjudication of guilt, and
- (1) the offense(s) you were found guilty of is/are not prohibited from being sealed, pursuant to s. 943.0584, Fla. Stat., and
- (2) you have never been convicted of a felony in Florida, and
- (3) all juvenile arrests that resulted in an adjudication of delinquency have been automatically expunged pursuant to s. 943.0515, Fla. Stat., and
- (4) you have not been adjudicated guilty of a listed misdemeanor (found in s. 943.059, Fla. Stat.), and
- (3) you have never sealed or expunged another arrest in Florida.
Let’s Look at Some of These Questions
Let’s take a more in-depth look at some of these questions.
How Many Times Were You Arrested and If You Were Convicted?
We need to know what each of your Florida criminal cases were for (charges) and how they were resolved by the court before we can determine if you qualify. If you have only been arrested once or twice and you remember the County where these arrests occurred, we can look these up for you.
If you do not remember all of your arrests and/or locations, do not guess. If you have been arrested more than twice, you should run an FDLE criminal history on yourself and forward us the results. The cost is $24 paid to FDLE.
In Florida, You Can Be Found Guilty AND NOT BE CONVICTED
In Florida you can be found guilty BUT NOT CONVICTED. This means that you may still qualify to have your record sealed even if you were found guilty or pled “no contest” or “guilty” to a criminal charge. See, differences between conviction and withhold of adjudication.
Specific Offenses Cannot be Sealed if You Were Found Guilty
If the arrest/case you want removed resulted in a withhold of adjudication, you may be able to have it sealed. However, there are some charges (listed in s. 943.0584, Fla. Stat.) that cannot be sealed even if adjudication was withheld. FDLE maintains a list of offenses that are not allowed to be sealed even if adjudication is withheld.
For More Information Emailed to You
If you would like more information emailed to you or you feel you may qualify or have questions about qualifying, please submit your information in the form below and we will contact you.